Cars, we need to talk about your future

This week a somewhat frightening thought popped into my head. We live in a world with some pretty established classics. We have 60s Stangs, 70s Corvettes, basically any M from the 8os. From E-Type Jags to old SLs to GTOs there are many to chose from.

There are two very, very important questions that need to be asked. First of all, what is going to happen to these classics. Even the first cars, model As and such are still around. Will they ever be extinct? Will there be a day when they are gone? Granted, the greats will live on in some museum, but car people don’t like museums. We like to drive and experience the cars, not just look at them (though we do like to look at them, just not only look at them).

I really don’t want to think of the day when the Mustang dies, or when there are no more Alfa’s broken down on the side of the road. Yes, classic cars aren’t practical, and sometimes, when compared to modern cars, inferior, but they are part of a culture and a history that needs to be kept alive. I don’t want to be on my rocking chair one day explaining what M meant for BMWs back when they existed,  I want to show him how to drive mine.

The second important question: What will the future classics be? In 2050, what car will I see a youngster driving to which I give a nod of respect? Will all these complex electronics stand the test of time? It’s a very scary thought. When you have a car like the 458 which, without electronics, probably wouldn’t move, you have to wonder what will happen with time.

Maybe someday I will make a list, I don’t know, I’m still too scared. And who knows, maybe Orwell and Rand and these other guys are right and someday I will be driving my Carmobile and all culture will be lost. Or maybe we will live in a mad max-esque post-apocalyptic wasteland where we drive jacked-up BA-Mobiles.

I’m scared.

3 comments on “Cars, we need to talk about your future

  1. afmcmahon says:

    This is deep. I’d love to be able to teach my kids or grandkids how to drive an older car, seeing that the Honda Civic is probably going to be considered old by then.

  2. wmajchszak says:

    If everyone purchases Jeeps then they will all last forever and never become extinct! Plus they have timeless designs

  3. sleeharris says:

    What if we can teleport by 2050? Will we need cars?

Leave a Reply

